Book cover - This Tender Land - Author William Kent Krueger

This Tender Land

Author William Kent Krueger

  • Release Date: 2019-09-03
  • Genre: Literary
Our score: 4.5
4.5
From 690 Ratings

This Tender Land Summary


This Tender Land - For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, “a gripping, poignant tale swathed in both mythical and mystical overtones” (Bob Drury, New York Times bestselling author) that follows four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.

1932, Minnesota—the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O’Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent’s wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.

Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will fly into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that is “more than a simple journey; it is a deeply satisfying odyssey, a quest in search of self and home” (Booklist).

This Tender Land Review


  • Breathtaking

    5
    By Whitmben
    Ordinary Grace quickly rose to a lifetime favorite for me and This Tender Land was no different. WKK has such an incredible way of describing the heartbreak that is life while also it’s beauty.
  • This Tender Earth

    5
    By S7590
    Amazing. A true epic. A cross between Grapes of Wrath and Water for Elephants
  • Excellent book

    5
    By Bookchief
    I enjoyed it immensely.
  • Modern day fairytale

    4
    By schmidthk
    Excellent and imaginative! The story is unique , filled with creative characters. The middle part was the least likable in my opinion. But, the beginning and end are quite satisfying.
  • Amazing Journey

    5
    By fpp221
    1932....I feel like I was there with the 4 Vagabonds on their journey. Mr. Krueger is an awesome storyteller.....just like Odie.
  • This Tender Land

    5
    By Debi Cole
    Beautifully written, thought provoking, uplifting. I loved this book!

keyboard_arrow_up