Book cover - Cupid for Hire - Author Lila Monroe

Cupid for Hire

Author Lila Monroe

  • Release Date: 2019-07-16
  • Genre: Contemporary
Our score: 4.5
4.5
From 785 Ratings

Cupid for Hire Summary


Cupid for Hire - Cupid meets her match in this sizzling new romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Christina Lauren, Sophie Kinsella, and Jasmine Guillory! 

She can make anyone fall in love… 
Poppy Hathaway is a professional Cupid. Need a love note, raunchy sext, or apology letter so epic that your other half will forget you hesitated a second too long when you asked, ‘Is my cousin hot’? She’s got you covered. But when her most frequent bachelor client, the annoyingly charming (or is that charmingly annoying?) Dylan Griffin comes to her with a big new job, Poppy discovers that three little words can add up to one big complication… 

He’s got his eyes on the (wrong) prize… 
Dylan doesn’t want help seducing another swimsuit model (for once in his life). He wants Poppy’s help winning his high-school crush - and he’s prepared to make it worth her while. Throw in a summer Catskills trip that’s equal parts ‘Dirty Dancing’ and dirty-talking, and this Cupid is soon out of her depth - and head over heels with the last man she expected. But can she find the right words when it comes to her own heart? Or will this happily-ever-after be more of a romantic disaster? 

Find out in the sparkling new romantic comedy from Lila Monroe!

Cupids series:
1 Cupid for Hire
2 What’s Your Sign?
3 The Romeo Effect
4 The Break-Up Artist
5 The Romance Plan

PRAISE FOR CUPIDS:

“Fun, Fun, Fun! Hilarious, snarky, and LOL perfection! Poppy and Dylan were so fresh, everything executed with perfect timing which had me laughing or smiling through the entire book.”  - Kay Daniels Romance

“What an amazingly adorable, funny, steamy start to a new series by Lila Monroe! Prepare to laugh, swoon, yell, and have a great time with this one.” - Goodreads.com 

“A fabulously funny story.” CeeCee’s Book Blog

“A hilarious, steamy story that squeezes your heart while it keeps you in stitches.”  - Book Addict Blog

“Their story is sassy, snappy, snarky, sarcastic and smexy so, if you want a book that will leave you with a happy sigh and a great big grin, run to the 1-Click button and start reading today!” - Book Addict Blog

Cupid for Hire Review


  • Love it

    4
    By mhastings87
    This is the cutest story she always knows how to make me laugh! I have become a big fan of hers!!!
  • Cupid for Hire

    3
    By PalatableDinner
    A fun romcom that flows well with a writing style that suits the genre. The dialogue is well written and Poppy and Dylan’s relationship is funny and organic. How Dylan ended up responding to Poppy’s book stock criticism is such a small moment but full of nuance and ultimately my favorite part. However, there are several random double indentations and typos, a few things didn’t make sense, and Dylan’s story took a turn for the cliche toward the end, but overall this was still an enjoyable read. This book contains cursing, a heads-up for those averse. Given that Henry and Kelly are presumably a part of the community, as a gamer the immersion was broken pretty early when Henry calls it “virtual reality game” instead of VR or specifying a title, fictional or otherwise. Language is a telltale sign of whether someone is part of a community or not, something Poppy should know as a good writer, and made worse by the fact that it’s the first look readers get at Poppy’s work. Later the author appears to mistake Smash Bros, which is known for PvP, for Mario Bros, which aside from being super vague is more co-op. Dylan is supposedly a big smooth talker in his own right so it doesn’t make sense for him to hire Poppy prior to seeing Jasmine again. Because he’s described as wearing a fraying jacket and their first interaction is establishing that $200 for a bouquet is too expensive, how events are presented doesn’t really establish that the customer is cheating as opposed to being on a budget in a polyamorous relationship, making the flower shop incident a demonstration of quick judgment rather than principle on April and Poppy’s part. Continuity issue. Poppy wore jeans to her date with Chris but later said Dylan’s hands were under her dress. It’s weird that Poppy thinks Dylan and Jasmine are “effortlessly gorgeous” when she’s shown at every turn the work Jasmine puts into her body, knows that Dylan used to have a bowl cut and has a personal trainer, but then cries about not being able to “compete” in that area despite going out of her way to make it clear that she doesn’t put effort into her own. Considering her beliefs in “true love” it’s kind of contradictory for Poppy to also perceive love in terms of a competition, and for some unknown reason all the characters seem to think dating someone means adopting their dietary choices.
  • KaCee

    5
    By kcbeme
    Very interesting topic Great characters Not a cliffhanger Thoroughly enjoyable Chuckable moments
  • Cupid for Hire

    3
    By Crazy not lazy
    Not up to par from her other books. I give it a 3 1/2 stars. I liked parts of it, but the ending sucked! Also, she should weigh close to 300 pounds with what she ate. Tonage doesn’t make for good romance novels!
  • Cupid for Hire

    4
    By Tiggy/Cookie
    First time reading this author. Cute story, liked the characters. Only a few word bombs, and a couple of descriptive sex scenes but not too over the top. Pretty sure I would read other books by Lila Monroe.
  • Fine

    5
    By Rakib789$
    T
  • Love this

    5
    By Ilovebooksforeverrrr
    Just the right amount of comedy and romance
  • Great

    5
    By lms20379
    Cute and funny with a little sexy. Doesn’t play on the damsel in distress like so many other romance novels, she doesn’t go chasing after him like a love sick puppy. Nice change of pace!
  • Loved

    5
    By smbmpb
    This was my first Lila Monroe book and I absolutely loved it. The story line was just so sweet I couldn’t help but follow it all the way through.
  • Sassy with Spark

    5
    By MistyG15
    This book does not disappoint!! A laugh out loud book full of banter. Poppy makes a living by writing love notes, vows and everything romance. But she can’t seem to find love herself. Her most active client Dylan thinks he’s found the one. But what he doesn’t expect is to fall for Poppy while she tried to get Jasmine to date him. Such a great book that will keep you laughing with a HEA. 5 star read

keyboard_arrow_up